Monday, 9 May 2011


Kathy Pearce- re-elected Group Leader
The newly elected 13 strong Sedgemoor District Labour Group met today to assess the post election situation on the Council which sees the Tory majority slashed from 24 to 14.

Whilst the group is still not strong enough to achieve a controlling influence on the Council it remains the main opposition Group and will therefore nominate Leader of opposition, Shadow portfolio holders and increase it's representation on committees.

The Liberal Democrats, whose number fell to 2 , are  now considering operating as a stand alone group or attempting to make an arrangement with the 2 Liberal Independents  who may form a seperate 2 man group or combine to form a mighty liberal bloc of 4.

Mick Lerry -newly elected Chairman
 The Labour group elected KATHY PEARCE as Group Leader with JULIAN TAYLOR as deputy.
MIKE LERRY was elected Chairman of the group with BRIAN SMEDLEY as secretary ALEC GLASSFORD as treasurer and STEVE AUSTEN as group Whip.

Shadow portfolios and committee places were elected and allocated and will be announced at Annual Council on May 18th.

Bridgwater Town Labour Group has re-elected JOHN TURNER as Chairman .

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations and keep up the good work!

    Well done!

    Gay Hector